San Francisco

I have been spending a few days in the City by the Bay. (Cue classic Journey track!) I figured that while I was on the West Coast I ought to include SF in my itinerary. My great hope had been that Tammi could join me here, but that didn’t work out, so I have known for a while that I would be here on my own.

But what a neat city to explore. On Saturday evening, after an excellent Thai meal of pad kee mao (stir fried flat rice noodles, garlic, onion, bell peppers, tomatoes, green beans and basil), I took cable cars to Fisherman’s Wharf.

It was quite lovely there in the early evening:

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-hGPGr1KhQFU/T9ZzBsSSrQI/AAAAAAAAAOw/rua3IBg6k58/s512/DSCN0335.JPG

and I met some new friends (but they were a little sleepy):

The next morning I went to City Church for worship, and then had great conversation over lunch with my friend Scot Sherman, one of the pastors at City Church.

After lunch Scot dropped me off at the Golden Gate Bridge, which I proceeded to walk. It’s 1.7 miles across, so I needed a little rest on the other side before I walked back. Scot was smart to advise me to purchase some sunscreen at the gift shop before starting across. It was a beautiful, sunny day, as these shots will prove:

https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-qHo35v7nfyw/T9Zz3NfRUHI/AAAAAAAAAQ4/7XLPNZ2sot0/s512/DSCN0352.JPG

https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-939V9XMC-qk/T9Z0XsrUJHI/AAAAAAAAASQ/DH7dI3sAXSc/s512/DSCN0364.JPG

This morning I went to Japantown, which was really neat. I’m sure Jonathan (my eldest son) would enjoy it.

https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-GfYqnceYTSQ/T9Z1NUVBaoI/AAAAAAAAATs/4LLfbrBYITg/s512/DSCN0375.JPG

After having a delicious lunch of red snapper at Fisherman’s Wharf, I went to Chinatown. It was interesting, but I didn’t like it as much as Japantown.

Tonight I’m having dinner with a good friend from seminary, Magi Henderson. She is pastor of a church only a block away from my hotel, and she’s also on sabbatical.

Tomorrow I go home. I’m so happy that I’ll see Tammi and the boys. (Bethany is doing an internship in Colorado Springs.)

Author: Dan Griswold

A good life is motivated by love. My loves: the Triune God, family, music, friends, parishioners, theology.

1 thought on “San Francisco”

  1. Hi Dan!
    Glad you got to the Bay bridge on such a clear day. I’ll bet it was spectacular.
    Hope your travels back home went well.
    Looking forward to seeing you again.
    Dave W

Leave a Reply

