London, Day 3

We got back too late last night for me to post about the day, so I’m doing so about 9 hours later. And Tammi’s waiting for me so we can eat, so I will have to make this short.

After breakfast and a trip back to Jermyn Street for some goodies, we went to the Barbican Centre for the events for which I initially wanted to come to London: a sequence of concerts featuring the music of Arvo Pärt. At 3:30 we saw a film about Pärt, “24 Preludes for a Fugue.” This was very interesting and enjoyable. It helped Tammi a lot, as it gave her a good introduction to Pärt and his music.

After this we stood in line to see if I could get a ticket for the 6:00 choral concert. I was thrilled to get one. Tammi was happy to go shopping and read, while I enjoyed an outstanding hour long performance by the BBC singers. It began with the organ piece “Trivium,” which my church’s organist, David Bellows, played for Good Friday 2011. Then the choir became the focus, and performed “Beatitudes,” “Missa Syllabica,” “Summa,” “Seven Magnificent Antiphons,” and “… Which Was the Son Of.” The choir was marvelous. The pieces were glorious.

After a bite to eat and drink in the Barbican lobby, during which the BBC Family Orchestra and Chorus performed Pärt’s “Zvon,” Tammi and I made our way into Barbican Hall for the 8:00 concert. This featured the BBC Orchestra, conducted by Tönu Kaljuste. I was very pleased that Kaljuste would be conducting, as he has long been a proponent of Pärt’s music. The works performed were Symphony 1, Silhouette, Symphony 3, then, after the intermission, Berliner Messe and Tabula rasa.

More about this later. It’s time for breakfast.

Author: Dan Griswold

A good life is motivated by love. My loves: the Triune God, family, music, friends, parishioners, theology.

Leave a Reply

