London Calling

Tammi and I arrived last night in London. As we were walking through Heathrow Airport, I said to her, “I’m in London! Finally! I think I might cry!”

I’ve wanted to go to England for years. When I was a sophomore in college, I considered doing a semester in Scotland, but decided against it because I didn’t want to be away from Tammi for that long. I’d rather go with her. And now I have.

By the time we got to bed it was about 3 a.m. London time. The plane got in a little later than scheduled, then the line (oh, sorry, the “queue”) for customs was very long. We were next to some people who had been two rows ahead of us on the plane. Turns out their Americans, and he’s the pastor of a church in London. They were very helpful. By the time we got to the Underground (subway) station, the last train had just left. So with them we took the bus. After some good conversation and a minor adventure looking for the hotel with another American acquaintance, we got to our rooms and eventually were able to settle down to sleep.

It’s now some 7 hours later, and we’re just about ready to go. We’ll take in some sights, and some food. I figure that tomorrow will be a heavier day of touring.

Author: Dan Griswold

A good life is motivated by love. My loves: the Triune God, family, music, friends, parishioners, theology.

2 thoughts on “London Calling”

  1. So glad you are living the dream! I was in London 10 days before Charles and Diana’s wedding…quite the circus! Say hi to Tower Bridge for me and ENJOY!!!!!
    XO
    Kelly

Leave a Reply

