A Nice Pre-sabbatical Warm Up

Last night (Friday) I attended a concert put on by the group Cordancia. This is a chamber orchestra (about 36 musicians) local to Rochester that likes to play music that’s a little off the beaten path. As it says in last night’s bulletin, “The ensemble’s programs blend eclectic, vibrant music with traditional classic repertoire.” I was pleased to see eleven colleagues from my own orchestra, the Penfield Symphony Orchestra, including my friends, Dana Hyuge and Dave Lane, and our conductor, David Harman.

It was an enjoyable and interesting concert. I heard nothing familiar, and that was a good thing. I especially enjoyed a piece by Samuel Barber titled “Summer in Knoxville. It featured an excellent young soprano, Natasha Drake. Her final lines in this piece brought me to tears. All the pieces were performed at a very high level of musicianship. The acoustics were not helpful to the upper strings, as the pews conspired to block their sound. But we all could still hear them, and throughout the music was beautiful, energetic, soulful, and fun.

My sabbatical starts on Wednesday (April 25), and this was a perfect way to anticipate my time of rest and renewal, especially considering my intended focus on music.

Thank you, Cordancia, for helping to get me ready.

Author: Dan Griswold

A good life is motivated by love. My loves: the Triune God, family, music, friends, parishioners, theology.

Leave a Reply

